Home » Butterflies » Butterflies are Free

Butterflies are Free


Posted by: • Date:

Way back in 1972 there was a wonderful little movie with Goldie Hawn, Edward Albert, Jr., and Eileen Brennan Heckart titled “Butterflies Are Free”. While parts of the movie may appear to be dated, the story itself is not. On the surface, it is about those society used to refer to as “Free Spirits” and about the limitations imposed by physical disabilities but underneath the covers it’s really about how we each view ourselves, why, and what really makes one free. If you haven’t seen this flick – or even heard of it, I highly recommend getting hold of a copy. I plan on doing so myself as it’s been 30+ years since I last saw it but I’ve got a feeling that it will still be as powerful as I remember it.

“There are none so blind as those who will not see.” – “Little Donnie Dark” fictional storybook character from the movie, “Butterflies Are Free”

In keeping with the theme of butterflies, I’m serving up a small selection of butterfly images I recently made for a rather large, ambitious project I’ve started to work on. (More about that to come in the next few weeks and months. But the primary inspiration behind it is my theory that, as long as there are still things left to do on your “Bucket List” you’re not allowed to die yet. (For those of you looking for loopholes in that theory, I’ve checked. And No, procrastination won’t win you extra time, and the tasks on your list have to be ones that are intended to make the world a little bit better for your having been here. Seems reasonable to me, at least, so worth a try.) 😉

Enjoy!

Free Icons of the Day

The following images are either full or reduced size previews. Simply right-click (or control-click) on the preview to save the image(s) of your choice to your desktop. (Unless otherwise noted, downloads are 512px X 512px in .png format). As always, usage of any of the images offered on this blog are free for your personal use while subject to the limitations of my Creative Commons Non-Commercial – Attribution – No Derivatives 3.0 license. (See sidebar for details)

Butterflies-1

Butterflies-2Butterflies-4

Butterflies-3Butterflies-5

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Butterflies are Free

  1. awww love Goldie Hawn (and her hubbie too LOL)
    will try find the movie
    I had no sleep so cannot write making much senses, will come back late
    Huggzzz

  2. Oh my how beautiful!!! I love the butterflies. That was my last work. I had a gardening business and planted butterfly gardens. I love their medicine. I learned that many of the nectar plants and especially the larval food plants are all medicines I need. One day I wish I could have a green house and grow all butterfly plants and make medicine from them, and of course feeding the butterflies too!
    And congratulations on 10,000 visitors. I began my blog 10 months ago too and I don’t know how many people have visited but I don’t think 10,000. Maybe I’ll check, lol, or maybe not. Your blog totally rocks!

  3. Hi Leslie,
    I used one of your butterflies again. “http://dogkisses.wordpress.com/2010/06/20/kamama-cherokee-for-butterfly/” Probably not one of my better posts, but I enjoyed writing it. Thank you, AGAIN, for the use of your images.

  4. Pingback: The Manners of Messiness

    • I love your attitude! It exemplifies what I would term the TRUE joy of cooking! Bringing back the spirit of splashing about in the garden making mud pies with the earnestness and squeals of pleasure that most of us left behind long ago is a much needed anecdote to the weight of the world on our shoulders.
      Carry On!
      Leslie (aka) IconDoIt.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Rex! I’m looking forward to see what you come up, by the look of your other wallpapers, they should be great! Come back when you post your Butterfly Wallpapers and leave a direct link to that post!
      Cheers!
      Leslie

  5. I have looking for this movie for years, won an awarde, but not available anywhere I’ve looked. This movie shaped my life more than any other movie ever made!

Leave a comment