Home » Legal » Justice Watch – Week 16

Justice Watch – Week 16


Posted by: • Date:

In the process of writing Sunday night’s post, I spent quite a bit of time surfing the ‘net in search of all that I could find about my Uncle and his little family and especially what his two son’s had been up to in the years since I had visited their parents. There was SO much, that I’m sure I hardly made a dent! I was so fascinated by their passions and accomplishments that I stayed up the entire night reading to the point that my brain got so overloaded that I felt my head would explode and so I shut down my Mac and proceeded to sleep until almost 3:00 pm on Monday. I don’t know why I do things like that (staying up all night) but it seems like I alternate between two extremes: from not being able to focus or remain awake for more than 20 minutes at a time to being in hyper-focus mode for 24-36 hour stretches. Before I went through Chemotherapy, I only functioned in one mode which was all out all the time and sleeping no more than 4-5 hours a night without skipping a beat. I hate that I’ve lost that ability as I always thought that life is too precious to waste it sleeping. Sigh.

In any case, I hope to learn more about my cousins endeavors in order to intelligently fill you in. In the mean time, being yet another Tuesday, I’ll be on my “Justice Watch” for what is now the 16th week since the 3-Judge Appellate Merit Panel began to deliberate over my case, and I’m praying that this Wednesday morning will finally shine on a published opinion. As usual, I’ve made some new legal icons for you this week, where one of them, a symbol for World Justice, has been inspired by reading about my cousin, Ivan Sigal, who is the Executive Director of “Global Voices“, an organization of Bloggers in more than 150 countries. Because of that role, he had been invited to be a part of a panel at the 2009 event “Passing the Baton” held by the US Institute for Peace to speak about the powerful influence of the Internet, and blogs in specific, that can be used to encourage and spread peace as well as to foment conflict and terror, and how it is vital for both the government and citizens to actively engage online, both listening and learning as well as building a strong, positive presence. (Forgive my huge simplification but I hope I got it correct.).

Enjoy!

Free Clip-Art / Icons of the Day

The following images are reduced size previews. Simply right-click (or control-click) on the preview to save a zipped file to your desktop that contains all images in each preview group (each image is 512px X 512px in .png format) or, in the case of the individual icons, do your clicking on each one you’d like to download. As always, usage of any of the images offered on this blog are free for your personal use while subject to the limitations of my Creative Commons Non-Commercial – Attribution – No Derivatives 3.0 license. (See sidebar for details)

World Justice

Black Justice 2

Black Justice

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Justice Watch – Week 16

  1. Hi Leslie,
    Wow, you’ve been busy! I love the icons for this post. Awesome!!! The blindfold is interesting. My favorite is the first one, but they are all cool.
    I’ve also been checking out, slowly, some of your sidebar feeds. I visited the Invisible Disabilities Advocate and found it most interesting. I signed up for a Creative Commons License. First I had the no derivs but changed it. I’m not sure if I should have it or not. Honestly, I thought I got the same one as you have but didn’t. I guess I can change it.
    I look forward to catching up with you what you have posted.
    I hope you are resting well.
    Very nice to have you back!

Leave a Reply

