Home » Elegant » Chinese Ornamental Hardware

Chinese Ornamental Hardware


Posted by: • Date:

Following through on my foray into oriental-inspired clip-art, I dug into my archives and came up with a few experiments I created several years ago based upon a couple of door knobs I found at an antique store. In those days, I made everything 128×128 pixels as that was the largest size usable for an icon on Mac’s OSX. Nowadays, 512×512 is the standard and so I’ve updated the old art to accommodate the new size and cleaned up the details. I’ve no idea whether these designs actually have some meaning in one or another Chinese dialects. I’d love to know but just do not have the ability to concentrate long enough to compare the characters to the hundreds of examples out there. If anyone out there can enlighten me on this, that’d be great.

In the meantime, Enjoy!

Free Clip-Art / Icons of the Day

The following images are either full or reduced size previews. Simply right-click (or control-click) on the preview to save the image(s) of your choice to your desktop. (Unless otherwise noted, downloads are 512px X 512px in .png format). As always, usage of any of the images offered on this blog are free for your personal use while subject to the limitations of my Creative Commons Non-Commercial – Attribution – No Derivatives 3.0 license. (See sidebar for details)

Bang A Gong (Midnight)

Bang A Gong (Rust)

Bang A Gong (Coffee)Bang A Gong (Silver)

Bang A Gong 2

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Chinese Ornamental Hardware

  1. wOw girl!!!! you are some artist!!!!
    We were away, came back last night (away from wednesday afternoon, you will read about it soon) and saw the previous post but was too tired to comment….I ll try send you some scanned pages for hand drawing studies (though I think what you have done serves the purpose very well!!)
    these are gorgeous 🙂
    Hope you are doing well in general….I need to update so much of my blog….not sure if I have the right energy though….I lost one of my most dearest friends very, very recently…writing blogs only reminds me she wont be reading it (at least not from her terrestrial body) but will update as soon as I get back into tracks…
    Huge huggzz and thanks for these, will download tonight (i need to (yet) make some space in my discs!)
    Huggzzz

Leave a Reply

