Home » Avatars » Bogus Bogey Boogies Tonight!

Bogus Bogey Boogies Tonight!


Posted by: • Date:

Black and White film have always been my favorites. For some reason, they seem to pull me into their movie world so that I feel apart of the scene and able to gaze out beyond the cameras scope and glimpse what lies beyond. The lighting of the old black and white films from the 1930’s-1950’s seems far more dramatic to me and far more effective at focusing my attention to the screen. But my son grew up in the era of color: color television, color computer monitors, color video games, color photographs and color movies. When Rob was a young child, I had created a number of games for him to play using HyperCard (a nifty little application that came installed on the early Mac’s.) My monitor in those days was grayscale (which I thought was the greatest thing – so much more exciting than the 1-bit monitors that PC/DOS users were stuck with) – but it wasn’t color like our TV, so like any other red-blood American kid in the late 1980’s, Rob just could not understand why I spent so much time creating games that had no color and fairly crude animation as compared to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on VHS. So I tried to keep my enthusiasm to myself and shifted my attention to things other than designing games on my trusty MacPlus.

Zoom ahead a decade now and perhaps you can imagine my delight when Rob came home after his first year at college and was going on and on about these great movies he had discovered by the director, Alfred HItchcock, which were in black & white! Well, that opened up the floodgates for Hubby and I to introduce our newly enlightened prodigal son to all of our favorite films, like Citizen Kane, Metropolis, The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. Terwilliger, and of course, all the great Humphrey Bogart films like “The Treasure of the Sierra Madre”,”The Maltese Falcon”,”Petrified Forest”, and “Casablanca”. Although those films are 50-75 years old now, they still hold up due to the superb art direction, lighting, writing, directing, and acting,

High-Definition and even 3-D television and movies, as cool as those are, seem like an entirely different medium as compared to the old B&W classics. If you’re too young to remember the “old days” and haven’t yet discovered these on DVD or Blu-Ray, make yourself a bucket of popcorn, turn all the lights out, and switch on Turner Classics on the next rainy afternoon and tell me what you think. Am I right?

Ironically, after all that rambling about the glories of black and white, I have for you tonight some experimental artwork I created inspired by a still-shot of Humphrey Bogart – in color! (The devil made me do it.) 😉

Enjoy!

*Note: If you follow the link above for “The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. Terwilliger” there are a few video clips there of the film, and you’ll probably wonder what the heck’s wrong with me because those clips are in Technicolor. True enough. But just like in the 1939 Judy Garland classic, “The Wizard of Oz”, was B&W for all the scenes taking place in Kansas while Oz and Munchkinland were in color, so too does Dr. T intertwine both black and white scenes in among those in color.

Free Clip-Art / Icons of the Day

The following images are either full or reduced size previews. Simply right-click (or control-click) on the preview to save the image(s) of your choice to your desktop. (Unless otherwise noted, downloads are 512px X 512px in .png format). As always, usage of any of the images offered on this blog are free for your personal use while subject to the limitations of my Creative Commons Non-Commercial – Attribution – No Derivatives 3.0 license. (See sidebar for details)

Bogie

Bogie At NightBogie Nights

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Bogus Bogey Boogies Tonight!

  1. well, my dear girl….what can I say…
    number one, you are so extremely talented, love what you produced here.
    then there is the fact that you are giving me hope (though I just had a glimpse with Sarita) that they DO, indeed,our children, gain clarity of mind and start liking the quality stuff, or at least give value to what we gave value at certain point of our lives. (Sarita just had an encounter with a Hare Krishna and got interested in meditation, just after she became a vegetarian a month ago.OK, not what I would have chosen when I was 14, I went to more western approach of meditation with a Guru called Maharajah Ji, but at least makes a difference to the brain washing,dumb to no end YouTubers whose clips are untalented and based on mocking others whom, unlike them, have made it big in the show bizz)
    I was lucky enough though, that I decided to watch Rebecca one very late night of summer holidays a couple of years ago,she fell in love with it, then, again last year, they read Jane Eyre in school and (to my speechless surprise as she isn’t the reading type, which I can’t understand as I go through a book every 3 days) and when I suggested we watch the first Jane Eyre (B&W) as they watched a color version in school, she, again, loved the *color devoid* version.

    Then there is the *they still uphold* about these movies…
    I would go a step forward and say that not only they *still uphold* but I have not seen movies (despite the millions spent in them) for the last (at least) 10 years that move me in such way, be that visually or in all context…I may be getting old, but in a LOT of stuff….everything from my *olden days* seems a lot better.
    I don’t seem to be able to find musician, bands, songs like the ones people in the 60’s & 70’s composed and perform that changed the world’s view on music either, and I was attacked in a friend’s Facebook because of my bravery to critique a photo of some *contemporanean art work* (which looked exactly like the plain primary colors curtains we made at home with Sarita when she was 6)
    My comment was in a light, humorous way, with all the LOLs and smileys in place…the friend in question wrote to me to explain that the guy was dyeing of Aids, and that was why people reacted badly, even after I went in and explained my idea that art, like many (if not all) things in life depended on taste.
    you may like Jackson Pollock a lot and even go pay the U$350000 a painting of his cost…to me, his work doesn’t go further than some angry splash of paint that my child could reproduce (she has done it) to the point of people mistaken it to a Pollock copy.
    She did it after we watched Pollock life’s story in a movie, just to prove her point (she loves art, is going to do GCSE’s this next academic year). One *small* detail: she was 8 at the time of *painting* it.
    I did explain that I think everyone is entitled to like whatever they seem fit, after all the Tate Modern has masses of people going to see a crack in a huge piece of concrete as a *work of art*, thousands last year got *amazed* but a *piece* from a guy who blacked out a room and people would go in …and just wait until their eyes got used to the dark.
    Nothing else there, just dark.
    I could carry on: there is the pile of fresh laundry tied up with a string (I could reproduce that one all right!)
    or the guy who just piled up a lot of human excrement (i could do that too, in the weeks where my meds clash with my IBS) and the list goes as long as a third of a population of this world.
    As I said: I think everyone is entitled to like whatever they like, but none will make me call that *art*

    Anyway, I better go (as I wrote another one of my *bibles* here LOL)
    Thanks for this, Leslie, you are an amazing lady. I have been reading, just very busy to stop and comment as the designers I work with had kits released and I needed to get that organized, plus visits from the other side of the world and teenage *managing skills* (LOL) occupying most of my time.
    You are amazing.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

