Home » Art Nouveau » IconDoIt Lautrec

IconDoIt Lautrec


Posted by: • Date:

Coming up with titles for these postings is quite a challenge at times. The title not only should reflect the content of the post in a meaningful manner but should also been intriguing enough to draw in passers-by who may not otherwise realize there’s something here of interest to them. In the case of tonight’s post which includes some clip art I created that was inspired by Toulouse Lautrec, I had an additional consideration to balance my choice of titles upon. And so, I imagine you don’t need further explanation as to why “IconDoIt Lautrec” won out over “Too Loose Leslie”… 😉

I have always loved the feel of Toulouse Lautrec’s artwork. It just so full of life, vibrant and real and totally absent of any judgment upon the people depicted or the activities they’re engaged in. So very different from most other artists of his time – or of any time, for that matter. He was a true observer and reporter in my mind: capturing only what was rather than what he thought it should have been. That puts him on the list for my ultimate dream cocktail party when I depart from this world. Who’s on your list?

Free Icons of the Day

The following images are full or reduced size previews. Simply right-click (or control-click) on the preview to save the image(s) of your choice to your desktop. (Unless otherwise noted, downloads are 512px X 512px in .png format). Create Commons license applies (see sidebar for details)

Whatcha Reading?

Reclining-Reader

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “IconDoIt Lautrec

  1. wOw girl…you are ike…awesome.
    this is amazing.
    so was Lautrec, whom, by the way, has always been in my list.
    not only have I always admired him greatly,but I think I passed somehow the feelling to my daughter, who was insistent taht she wanted to go to Paris since she was 3 years old,and when Moulin Rouge the movie came out, she begged me to let her watch it, which I did.
    In 2006 we toook my mum for the ultimate Paris trip (she was here for one of those dreadful operations of mine, and she would be 70 in the following May, we wouldn’t be able to travel so far to the party) and guess what: for 2 years my child had saved the money to pay for the tickets to the Moulin Rouge, which cost as much as the whole 5 day trip (Eurostar return plus hotel with breakfast=£115 per person, Moulin Rouge with a drink= 95 Euros per person, my daughter payed 45 E as she was 11 at the time)
    Needless to say we have countless Lautrec’s reproductions in our place.
    My list for my own post departure party can be lenghty and I think I have written too much already…
    Hope you are having a good day, thanks so, so much for these!
    Huggzzzz

    • I think I hear Rod Serling playing a theramin in the background… We sure have lots in common! I think your daughter is awesome for being so enterprising and focused. She’ll be a real force to contend with when’s she’s all grown up! LOL. Really, great leadership ability. Did you get to the Lautrec museum when you were in France? I’ve got to dig around a bit to find a pix of me around 1974 when I dressed up as Jane Avril for a Halloween party. Had to use chicken wire to form the hat. Ouch!

  2. Hi,
    I found your blog by searching “a montrouge” on the w’press dashboard. I am embarrassed (well obviously not too much to reveal it) that I did not search blogs for more information on ‘Lautrec before I wrote two posts about his paintings, specifically “A Montrouge, Rosa la Rouge,” which I have a print of that I found at the thrift shop. Obviously, I missed out on Art history. (Do you have a dummy icon?) I’ve been reading about ‘Lautrec and I too love his work. I also love learning about his life. I was most confused at first because some say Rosa La Rouge was a prostitute and other sources say Rosa is from a song. I invite you to read what I wrote and would welcome your input, especially regarding any misinformation I may have posted.
    I have a hard time coming up with titles too. A woman commented on one of my posts saying how she really didn’t think it would be very good based on the title but then found it interesting — despite the sorry title.
    I like your blog and glad to have found it.

    • A “dummy” icon would hardly befit you! I have read a great deal about Lautrec and could find no errors. What I did find was that you have a thoroughly unique, compelling writing style that makes your posts intensely alive, compassionate, and human. If you are not already a professional author, you should be. I would love to see your talents applied to a quasi-novel, using a daily journal perhaps as a vehicle to weave your stories around.

      As to Rosa* she was indeed a prostitute but, unlike most of society (then as now), Lautrec neither felt nor exhibited disdain for these women, rather he believed them to be far more “real” and honest than the upper-class females that he had grown up with. In Lautrec’s voluminous body of work, including paintings and drawings, his models were almost always invariably prostitutes. While many have taken this as a sign of degeneracy, it was simply a fact of life in late-nineteenth century France and also the only source of female models willing to bare more than their face or occasionally their hands. Importantly, Lautrec never portrayed his models in a demeaning way. He was simply a “reporter”, an observer who tried to accurately capture the spirit of his models and surroundings without any moral judgment. If anything, Lautrec’s work accurately reflect his own gregarious, open-minded personality than believed in revering beauty and humanity over dogma.

      * As to the song you refer to, I could find no confirmation whether or not this referred to Carmen specifically or whether it had any connection to Lautrec’s paintings and sketches of Carmen. I suspect that if that song had any connection to a Lautrec model, it would more likely have been Jane Avril, who was not only a red-head but was a popular singer & dancer at the Moulin Rouge at the time.

      • Hi, Thank you for reading what I wrote! I am truly humbled by your compliment on my writing. I love to write and wish very much that I could write my stories other than in a blog. I’m quite critical of my writing skills and I guess, fatigue holds me back. I have recently looked into submitting a few articles to some magazines.
        I did a bit more research today and edited my post. Honestly, I am in awe of ‘Lautrec’s paintings and just as you said, he was a “reporter,” –speaking to what is real. I was unsure about this until I read more about him.
        Thank you again for visiting my blog. I enjoyed your blog and will surely come back. Have a blessed day.

  3. Pingback: Too Loose Nouveau for the 21st Century « IconDoIt

Leave a Reply

