Home » Animals » Art Deco: Icons – or – Clip Art?

Art Deco: Icons – or – Clip Art?


Posted by: • Date:

An interesting comment was posted on the forums at MacTHEMES in response to a few previews I had posted of my Art Deco Series when I began noodling with it in 2007. While indicating that he liked my concept, the Poster felt that the execution was more conducive to Clip Art than Icons. I appreciated his comments and must say that when viewing my art at say 48×48 or smaller sizes, that I can certainly see his point. Guess I’m rather spoiled in working on a Mac PowerBook 17 with a resolution of 1920×1200, thus having the real estate to keep my icons at their full OSX 10.4+ size of 128×128 pixels so I can enjoy them and without them being intrusive. I suppose that’s the benefit of being “retired” and no longer having to create work that is acceptable to the general mass market to feed my family. 😉 At the same time, just because I’ve referred to my creations as “icons” doesn’t prevent you creative folks out there from using them as you might if they were advertised as “Clip Art”.

What’s your view? I’m curious to know:

  1. How many of you look upon icons purely as a functional interface element vs. as functional AND “eye-candy”?
  2. What size do you keep icons at on your desktop?
  3. Do you ever set a custom icon on a folder to serve no purpose other than to just enjoy looking at it?
  4. Do your preferences change if working on a Mac vs. Windows?

Free Clip-Art / Icons of the Day

The following images are either full or reduced size previews. Simply right-click (or control-click) on the preview to save the image(s) of your choice to your desktop. (Unless otherwise noted, downloads are 512px X 512px in .png format). As always, usage of any of the images offered in the “Free Clip-Art / Icons of the Day” section are free for your personal use, subject to the limitations of my Creative Commons Non-Commercial – Attribution – No Derivatives – Share Alike- 3.0 license. (See sidebar for Terms of Use) For commercial or any other use, please contact me for directly.

maltese_falconmirror

AuburnSpeedster2

Deco_Network-UPDeco_Network-down1

maltese_falcon-mirror

Deco_Alias-GiantDeco_DownArrow-11

My Adaptation of cover on F. Scott Fitzgerald’s “ALL THE SAD YOUNG MEN” (original on right):

Swell-URLs-512ORIGINAL-fitzgerald

3 thoughts on “Art Deco: Icons – or – Clip Art?

  1. ” What’s your view? I’m curious to know:

    How many of you look upon icons purely as a functional interface element vs. as functional AND “eye-candy”?

    What size do you keep icons at on your desktop?

    Do you ever set a custom icon on a folder to serve no purpose other than to just enjoy looking at it?

    Do your preferences change if working on a Mac vs. Windows? ”

    About this…………….

    I spend a fair amount of time burrowing thru the file trees,looking for stuff to junk,mainly,and I get tired at looking at lists of boring windoze icons, and so its nice to come across the occasional green tree or violin……….I also have some prized stained glass window icons that are really neat…… images that have absolutely no relationship to function whatsoever………..and I usually rename the thing at the same time….Latin-like translations are my favourite……whats “My Computer ”
    in Latin ?…………if I have to look at something a lot then there’s no reason why it shouldn’t look attractive.

    Size…………I prefer small…….tho some are too small…..there must be a way to make them a bit bigger…………

    I have never had the chance to ferrett around in anyone else’s computer so intimately………….until recently that is, I might just extend the experiment …………mine is windows vista

Leave a Reply

